Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

N/A | National Track day advice sought

Discussion in 'Racing, Motorsports, and Track Days' started by cb rookie, Dec 13, 2012.

1. I'm new to track riding, and after doing my 2nd track day on the Daytona 675, I'm getting some lean angle, which is nice, though I'm concerned about how much my road tyres can handle (Metzeler M5s).

I've attached a pic - and it's not uncommon for me to not only drag a knee, but my toes as well. I was ok with it at first because my boots have toe sliders, but I've worn through them, and into the sole now. I want to do another track day next week, but I dunno if I'll have much of a chance to get new boots before then.
    SO all in all, a few questions:
    1. Should I investigate some track tyres? I run Metzeler M5s, and they feel alright, but I'm no expert. I'd also need to look at changing them frequently, as my bike is used for commuting too. I've seen spare wheels online for about 3,000 for a set
    2. How much of a difference would some adjustable rearsets make? In the pics i've seen, the pegs look to be in the exact same position as stock.
    3. Should I be changing my body position for hanging off to avoid dragging my toes? IF so, how?
    4. Are tyre warmers a waste of time when running road tyres?

PS - My Q about the tyres stems from a comment made by some folks in the pits at the last track day, saying my tyres are road, and that Softer compound tyres are the way. I'm a noob with the tyre compound stuff - but the Metzeler site indicates the use of varying tension bands to eliminate the use of different compounds in the tyre. Is this an equivocal trade off, or just marketing spin?
  2. Mate I had the same problem (and exactly the same bike).