Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Touring with no knowledge of maintanence

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by aski, Jun 27, 2013.

1. Hi Everyone,

I just finished my university studies in Australia and was planning to ride around Australia (about 14,000kms) before I leave the country. I have a 2002 Hyosung GV250 with around 10,000kms on the odometer. If I'm taking the trip I will have to depart from Sydney by the end of July so that I can finish the trip on time and head back to my home country.

The problem is that I'm a complete noob on bike maintenance. That means, basically I will have less than one month to learn about how to handle any breakdowns on the road, especially because it would be difficult to get help in many parts of the route.

So my question is: is this even possible? If so, where should I start? Any thoughts or suggestions will be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

2. Hmmmm.......

A Hyo and a circumnavigation of Australia.....

This should be interesting

• Funny Funny x 2
  3. Jun

I reckon go for it. Even of things turn bad, it will still be a great experience

I assume the Hyo is existing and you've had it a while so know it.

Basic maintenance is easy to learn from You Tube, anything else just cross the fingers.

The GV250 is a lot more reliable from all reports than the sports bikes. I had one for 20,000 and it never missed a beat

Make sure you take plenty pics and do a write up!
    • Like Like x 1
  4. It's possible if you sell the Hyosung and get a Honda.

Otherwise virtually impossible. ;)