Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Tour around Tas advice.

Discussion in 'Roads, Touring, Journeys, and Travel' started by Ed Chigliak, Nov 14, 2010.

1. Hi all,

I'm heading off to Tas in february with the wife. Just wondering how long folks reckon I'll need to get a good look at the place (and roads) without pushing it every day, or ny if possible.

We're riding from Adelaide, probably got 1 night in Vic before getting on the overnght boat. On return, I'm hoping to just get off the boat, turn left and hit the GOR for run home. And I've got 3 weeks off work.

We're camping and done loads of touring before so that side of things is sorted, but maybe have 1 or 2 days in a hotel and off the bike. It's just neither of us have been to Tas before, and I'm fairly new to Oz, so I've got no idea about the size of Tas. So any info welcome.

ps sorry if this has been done but I found nothing that really answers this.
  2. ive only driven around it, but in a week we managed to get a good 'all over' view of the island. its an amazing place, cant wait to get there on the bike!

edit: if you do a couple of searches, there have been some big tassy threads and the like :)
  3. Not gonna lie...am jealous! Have heard fantastic things of mates who have toured around Tassie!

Good luck with it and please post pics and updates...suckers like myself who'll be stuck in the rat race would love to hear of it!
  4. A good week should do it. We did 5 days in the car, but felt rushed. 7 - 10 days would be ideal I think...
  5. check out this tour of tassie i did earlier this year.. there's also others about the forum as well but can be hard to find... some other Vic boys were down that way in January as well and i think they posted about it on the Vic forum...