Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

total newbie

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by chmaiden, Jun 24, 2009.

1. hi guys

i have finally got around to getting my learners permit...only taken me 20 years but thought that i should just go for it and booked myself on at HART at the weekend - wow! what fun!!! I had never been on a bike before but loved it - scared the crap out of me and everything and have a lot more respect, but am now keen to crack on. Obviously have to wait 3 months min for the licence, but want to get the gear and a bike to get practice etc. the wife wants me to get a new one ("its a fragile thing and you dont want it going wrong - which I understand - she wants to do it in a year or so) but I am looking at something like a nearly new CBF250 or something like that. I am quite a big bloke - 105kgs and only 5'9 - blame 20 years of rugby training - both on and off the pitch in the bar! but am not really intending on blasting this thing about - a commute in teh summer and fair weather in teh winter. Longer term i would like to go down the Adventure bike route but we will see with that. I had a look over at AMX at the gear over there, and they looked ok fo rhte gear - will probably sort that out this week - will do some helmet trying on at lunchtimes down elizabeth st.

Anyway - is that the sort of bike that will suit me for the next 18 months? Or does anyone else have any other recommendations? What should I be looking for when it comes to a 2nd hand bike? Does anyone know of any that are for sale? Would anyone be willing to give me a hand??? (I moved over to Melbourne 2 years ago and none of my mates here ride).