Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Total NEWBIE type question.. don't laugh

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by Paulie, May 18, 2005.

1. Heyas,

Going for ride tonight and I plan on changing the oil this weekend cause I dunno when it was last done (had the bike 2 weeks). My question is... does it matter if you put tooo much oil in the engine? cause i wanna top it up a bit today before I go for a ride and I dont understand the whole thing about how to check the oil level cause its got a 'viewing window and I dunno what its supposed to look like in regards to oil level

Anyone got any ideas>>??? rather urgent like :D

2. Get some one to stand the bike up off the centre or side stand, and then check the oil level.
    It should come up half way up the side sight glass.The oil level should be in the middle of the glass. :D

Do not over fill the thing or you can really do some serious damage.

3. yeah cause its like a circular window and the oil level is in the middle like almost 1 cm wide line which goes verically down the centre of the looking window... does that sound ok?

4. what he said

5. Does the oil light come on when you first start up the engine? and then turn off a second or so after?
    If so you have oil in the sump, you have oil pressure and circulation, so that only leaves going for a ride to worry about.

6. yeah the oil like comes on briefly ay start up... I just didnt wanna run it lean

7. Start the bike and let it run for a few minutes to heat the oil up.

Get someone to hold the bike level, i.e don't chck it whilst it's on the sidestand.

The sightglass will have 2 marks on it.
    1. 3/4 of the way up the glass MAX
    2. 1/4 of the way up MIN

You should aim to have the oil line at your MAX line.