Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Total newbie here!

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by CarrieJade, Dec 29, 2015.

1. Hi all,

My name is Carina, Carrie for short. I'm 26 and live in Sydney. Going for my Ls in a few weeks after never having been on a bike in my life, so yes I am a TOTAL newbie!

Feel a little anxious posting here as I am kinda overwhelmed by everyone's knowledge and how little I know/how much I have to learn, but from what I've seen this is an awesome and supportive forum.

Still trying to choose my first bike; any suggestions? I'm 51kg and 164cm tall. I love cruisers and was thinking Yamaha Virago, but think for my first bike something like a Honda CB400 would be easier to manouver?

Look forward to getting to know you all!

• Like Like x 5
  2. G'day, you've come to the right place, lots of good newbie stuff on NR.

3. Can't go wrong with a CB400, but I'm biased (y)

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Welcome, remember everyone in here was once a first timer as well. Cb400, great learner bike. So many bikes to choose from these days. U really need to go and ride some

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Welcome to NR and good luck for L's. Many of us are noobs here also. I'd suggest any bike blue for you!

6. Welcome, CB400 would easy allow you to flat foot either side so would be a great bike to start with, plus they are pretty damn good anyway and many continue riding them even when they could upgrade to a more powerful bike. Totally different ride to a cruiser though, once you have learnt to ride properly the v-tec only kicks in at 6500rpm so ya gotta give her throttle to get there and enjoy the fun lol!
    Many for sale used as well as they are always a good seller.