Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Total MC Newbie

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Alan, May 14, 2005.

1. Hi,
    Im a total newbie to motorcycles and am just wanting to know a few things.
    1) For a road book, is there anything from stopping people from walking away with your bike?
    2) What is the service life of the oil, filter etc?
    3) On your opinion. What is the best brand of oil? (Castrol, Shell, Motul etc.)
    That's all I can think about at the moment

2. 1. Bikes have keylocks, similiar to steering locks on the car. It pull the steering to one side so all they can do is walk it in circles. You can also buy disk locks that are similiar to big padlocks that fit between your brake discs to stop them pushing it anywhere.

2. Oil is 6,000km, filter is usually 12,000km

3. Very debatable and opinion driven. For most applications, your bike won't notice any difference between brands.
  3. 2. Varies a lot b/w bikes, doesn't it? I know mine gets an oil change every 3,000km, but with mineral-based oil, not synthetic.
  4. Its all mineral oil based, then its modified to keep consistancy.
  5. As jason had said, you have the steering lock, but I supplement mine with a disc lock. I was in the city a few weeks ago and i parked my bike outside the restaurant. That day I had forgot to bring my disc lock. So when I had came back outside, I found my bike pushed around an long arc; the front wheel hit against the wall, my sidestand had scrapped along the pavement.

Not happy. Next time I might consider leaving my bike there and hiding behind a corner with a bat. But anyways, anything that could happen, will happen, so buy that disc lock and bring it wherever you go.

I get my bike serviced every 5,000kms.