Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

tools ?

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by coxy., Aug 1, 2008.

1. Hi everyone
    im thinking of doing the minor service for my 02 vfr800 to save a few bucks.
    the only thing is i have no tools and will have to go buy some. what should i get to get me started, i can always add to the collection. i have no experience working on bikes but have worked on cars a bit so if i take my time it should all work out fine (i hope)

2. Get the following in good quality gear:

Metric socket set, with 1/2 inch and 3/8 inch drivers, and sockets between 6mm and 32mm if possible to cover all your bases.

Roll of metric spanners, 6mm to big fellas, with ring and open ends

Screwdriver set with several different sized flat and phillips head screwdrivers, magnetic tips if possible and with metal bits on the end of the larger ones to tap with a hammer

Set of metric hex keys (I recommend the ones that have a balled end on one side), the bigger the set, the better.

Pointy-nosed pliers

Snub-nose pliers with cutters

Large-ish multigrips

Get the following in any old gear:

Hammer
    Loctite or other temporary thread-locking agent
    WD-40
    "magnet on a stick" (pays for itself very quickly)
    Drip tray with a funnely end and a pointy thing to stick a filter on
    Straight drift/cold chisel

That sort of kit will get you through most jobs

3. circlip pliers or a chain breaker is also useful
    oil filter wrench/attachment, good oil drip tray and small oil funnel
    rear and front stands if you have spare cash

i also use tyre spoons/levers (get the short ones, not the long ones for cars/trucks) and a home made bead breaker

a handheld impact driver can also be handy for changing sprockets