Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Tom Tom for iPhone

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by chrome, Apr 30, 2010.

1. So, I bought the Tom Tom application for the iPhone a few days ago, intending to use it in the car. On a whim last night, I fired it up and asked it to take me home while riding. I started playing music on it, put the earbuds in, put on my helmet, put the iPhone in my pocket and zoomed off on the bike.

I was pleasantly surprised; it works quite well, softening the music to give you directions. It doesn't chatter incessently at you; but rather gives you directions only when you need them.

It seemed to get a signal just fine in my pocket, and didn't skip a beat.

It chews the power a fair bit so it might be a good idea to get a charging cable for the bike if you intend to use it for a long ride.

As a full sized GPS replacement, I think it's a pretty good app, and the convenience of having it all in a single device is a huge win in my book.

If you already have an iPhone, don't currently use a GPS unit on your bike but are thinking about getting one, check out the iPhone Tom Tom application. Its currently got $20 off on the price, so its a good deal, I think.

2. I have it on my iPhone and it works very well, occasionally when it does lose the signal it directs me into houses and paddocks but it is very accurate most times
  3. When you say no signal, you mean no GPS signal yes?? (not 3G signal).
  4. Yep no gps signal
  5. I use igo software on my phone.
    It has the added advantage of fixed speed camera warnings :)
  6. On an overcast day it will probably struggle to get GPS reception, which is the same as most of the standard units available.
    With a clear sky there shouldn't be any issue.