Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by aero_nz, Jan 15, 2009.

1. Hey,

Im new to Melbourne as well as bikes (from NZ), so tolls are a foreign concept at the best of times. Whilst on the Eastlink, I noticed the toll signs so I looked it up and paid my $2 or what ever it was.

But what other freeways are tolled? I went on the Monash on Sunday, do I need to pay for that two? Im quite confused...

The Kiwi hahah
  2. Eastlink is tolled, the toll is half of what it is for a car.

Citylink is free for motorcycles, for now.........
  3. Thanks, So Eastlink is the only one I need to worry about at the moment?

F*@#@#k paying to drive on the road, isn't that what taxes, vehicle stamp duty and petrol taxes are for?!!!

(mind you the roads here are better than in NZ!!! less congestion and better quality roading)

4. Didn't know they made bikes in New Zealand......kiddin'

5. dont come to Sydney then :LOL:
  6. What an absolute joke it all is! Instead of your e-tag going "beep beep" when you pass under a toll, it should go "cha-ching" instead :LOL:
  7. i am not sure that eastlink is tolling bikes even though they say they are......i used it a while ago now, and as far as i can tell it hasn't come off the account :? the monash/city IS free for bikes :)
  8. Only this (drool...)
  9. Also, New Zealand E-tags don't go "Beep beep", they go "Baa Baa".
  10. What part of the Monash did you ride? :shock: Cos' nearly all of it that I know of is shit!! :evil:

Though I agree with your belief that taxes should pay for the road, not tolls.

Welcome to Oz mate. Enjoy your stay. :grin:
  11. Stewy .. Eastlink tolls us bikes.