Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Tolls in Sydney. Newbie questions..

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by loth, Dec 24, 2006.

1. So basically they are a pain in the ass and eat through my wallet :( Hence me spending hours of trying to find a way to skip those tolls. I'm new to the Sydney roads so basically don't know the ropes, and I was wondering if some kind souls could help me out. I have been googling some trip planners, and ended up with http://www.nowwhere.com.au/caltex/austlocator/caltextripplanner.aspx being the easiest to use... Any other websites I could check that offer alternative routes?

I live south of the city, near Kingsford / Kensington (UNSW) / Coogee / Bondi Junction. Just to give you an approximate idea. I have to go to Macquarie University (someone please bomb that uni :shock: ) in North Ryde. Here's what the trip planner suggests :
    Cahill Expressway through to Sydney Harbour Tunnel. Which involves paying a toll. I think the easiest 'free' way is to take Anzac Parade and go over the Sydney Harbour Bridge right? (since there's no toll northbound.)

Now for the return trip (heading South from North Ryde), and that's where it gets more complicated. The trip planner suggests to go on the Warringwah Freeway.Both the Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Sydney Harbour Tunnel involves paying a toll southbound. Any way to skip that?

I tried to make this post as clear as possible, although re-reading through it it does sound somewhat... messy. Apologies for that!
  2. You can come back to the city taking the epping road and then the detour that takes you to the Sydney Olympic Park and then take Victoria Road or Parramatta Road.

Use. www.whereis.com.au go to get directions and select avoid tolls.