Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

To ipad or not?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by peter-reebok, Dec 21, 2010.

1. been using a PDA since 1992, upgrade every couple of years.
    Like my excel and word, especially SQL databases, and 12c financial calc (I sell finance for a living)

Time to update again, and gadget part of brain is saying ipad, ipad.

Been looking at the 64GB wi-fi +3G model.

I watch a lot of downloaded old TV shows on the PDA, and anticipate using the 'interweb' on the Ipad more than on the PC at home.

Resisted the iPhone addiction, blackberry addiction, but have multiple ipods (they have a use!)

1000 seems a lot to spend if I make a wrong choice.
    Would be using at work daily, and at home when I am too lazy to walk to the PC (other room). Have my TV and PVR networked using Wifi at home as well, so am not technologically handicapped, just prefer to actually use things rather than look cool using them, cant see the iPhone doing a lot for me.

But seems like the next wave of technology that is usable.
    Understand the Ipad is good for consuming media rather than creating it.
    Not a replacement for my PC's, just an augmentation

feedback from those who chose to buy, and from those who decided not to ?
  2. I'm trying to talk myself into a Samsung Galaxy Tab, for the same sorts of reasons, and it's a proper phone as well, but apart from screen size my smartphone does everything it does, and fits in my pocket to boot

the ipad is a seductive device, I will admit.....
  3. do the research, do you really need one?
    don't get caught up in the apple/anti apple debate, what is it you really want?
    Does it fit in with your needs?
    If so then get an ipad, if not look at the alternatives.
    As for my personal opinion?