Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

to import or not to import....

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by rdogg63, Oct 20, 2007.

1. Hi everyone, I'm new to netrider (although i've read quite a bit :) ).
    I have just passed the learners course and was looking for my new bike. My budget is around $5000 and I'd like a new bike. Went to the local dealership a week or two ago and was considering the 2007 Honda CBR125R. Looked like an o.k learner bike to me though it was quite small and didn't look like it had enough grunt. I also checked out the '07 GPX250s. Didn't mind them two much, but they looked a bit outdated....

Anyways, I was surfing the net and I found out in the US that they have the 2008 Ninja 250R that sells for US$3500. I emailed a dealer (State 8 Motorcycles, Ohio) about importing this bike and he said that the bikes would arrive in about a month's time. The guy estimated shipping costs to be at around US$900. I also checked customs and there's no customs duty on bikes (only 10% GST)

All in all, this bike would probably end up costing me US$4750 = AU$5300. My question is that is this worth it? Or should I settle for something smaller then upgrade?

I'd appreciate any advice/help.

2. Sorry to break your new bike bubble, but buy a second hand pos. It wont be long before your new 125 will become slow and boring. You will lose way too much money on the resale.

just my 2cents

3. Also consider warranty. You won't have any if you import a bike. And the associated risks with importing it are too great, I feel, to warrant any savings that you might get.

As suggested, as it's a learner bike that you're looking at, you'll have it for a limited time, get something cheap and reliable.