Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Tips needed for buying a used bike.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by MotorBoat_MyGoat, May 27, 2013.

1. Herro,

I am finally going to buy a motorbike (LAMS) after all these years of dreaming! I was going to wait until I had a full license although after riding my dream bike (R6) I concluded it was indeed a very very very very (etc..) silly idea. I am going to buy an old school 250 (most likely a cbr250rr) because that was the first bike i started riding on the road, it's cheap, good resale value and i love the rev-range.
    However, I have never brought a vehicle, or a used one for that matter. I am sure this a nubcake question, but I would rather ask it than end up buying a toaster by accident. Ofcourse i am going to ask questions about the engine and how it was maintained for, but that individual will probably lie through their teeth and grin as they remember attempting to do a wheelie and stacking into a bush.
    What am I really looking for? Is there any real way of inspecting a bike thoroughly without paying $250 for a bloke to come and check it? I am fairly competent on working on bikes, but buying one is completely new to me.
    My original plan was to inspect the fairings/tank for any signs of damage, then move on to the dials and make sure they all work fine. Then check things like the kickstand/seat, ask him/her to start it up and possibly take it for a test ride.

I'd like to hear some thoughts/stories by you all, cheers!
  2. There's a guide in the articles section.
  3. My bad, i'll check it out. Should i delete the post?
  4. Yeah follow the above and...