Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Tips for changing gear

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Lans, Sep 18, 2012.

1. Hi all
    I'm a newbie rider and wondered if anyone can suggest any good videos or tutorials on gear changing? (Particularly changing down)
    At the QRide course the instructor said not to look at the tachometer and just rely on how it sounds and feels. I'm trying to do that but I guess because I don't have a lot of experience its hard to know if I'm doing it right.
    Also, because I'm on a brand new bike, am I right in thinking that the revs are different because the bike isn't worn in yet?
    Thanks in advance!
    Lans :)

2. I have a brand new bike too (150km old now). The owner's manual says to not go over half throttle for first 800km, then not over 3/4 throttle for the next 800km.

Your manual might say something similar. And it might say to not go over XXXX RPM. I don't have a tacho on my bike, so there would be no sense saying what RPM to keep it under for me.

Good luck.
  3. I think the best way to practice gear changes is by changing gear whilst maintaining a constant speed. I.e. at 60kmph, change from 2nd - 3rd - 4th - 3rd - 2nd etc.
    It will nail in the concept of rev matching.
    When changing up (2nd to 3rd or 3rd to 4th) you use less throttle to maintain the same speed.
    When changing down (4th to 3rd or 3rd to 2nd) it's the opposite. Increase throttle to maintain same speed.

Once you can smoothly cycle through gears whilst maintaining speed you're shifting like a pro. If your rev matching is good enough you can then move onto clutch-less shifting :)

that is all.
  4. So what is it that you are struggling with exactly?

The "how" or the "when"?