Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Tips for carrying a pillion

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Jove, Nov 30, 2006.

1. I'm new to carrying a pillion and wonder if anyone can offer any tips? I worked out on our last ride that if I used more back brake my passenger didn't fall forwards onto me when I slowed down! :shock:

2.  Top
  3. Perfect tip,

get a single seat cowling ;)

Works all the time ;)

4. Ask someone who's had a lot of pillions to take you for a spin on the back of their bike. Then. take that person for a spin on the back of yours. You'll get a feel for what your pillion is thinking and then have an experienced rider show you what your pillion should do and talk you through it. Much better than anything you'll read here. :)

Where are you?

5. It helps if the pillion knows the general rules of riding a bike themselves, even if it is just to lean in the corners.

Then for you, you really won't need to change you riding style, just slow everything down by a bit and Robert's your aunties live in lover. :)

It's not that difficult, it just takes practise, just like when you first learnt to ride.

6. 1) Tell them to be a sack of potatoes, as if they try to help you lean oor stay upright it roots your steering. If they want to help, they can look over the shoulder you're turning towards and that's about it.

2) Use more rear brake than usual. It stops the bike from pitching forward and the pillion from getting pushed right forward into your back. Unless you want that pillion mashing fleshy parts against your back, in which case use lots of front brake. Discretion should be used.