Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Tinted visor vs Iridium visor vs Sunnies

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by lui, Nov 1, 2011.

1. Just after your thoughts on tinted and iridium visors.

I've never used such things before because I feel sunnies are more practical and portable. But I thought I should ask in case I'm missing out on something.

From what I've read so far, iridium visors are more for looks, they are no more effective than tinted ones, but they are more costly and easily scratched. Sounds correct?

Then there's the normal tint and very dark tint, I would think the normal ones are no good when riding towards the sun (i.e. morning and afternoon sun) and will still require sunnies.

The very dark ones are probably useless at night but I can imagine it will work well under hot summer sun as it covers the entire face opening.

So what do you have on your helmet?
  2. Good timing this - I'm calling around now for a tinted visor for my Melbourne trip next week! MCAS Auburn has them in stock for my old AGV Stealth...
    I just decided I want one, but I'll be taking the clear one too...
  3. I have photochromatic :)

4. I constantly use my iridium one... it's a very light tint to it. So at night it's just about usable if I'm too lazy to change to my clear one. But having glasses and dealing with prescription sunglasses (which I often forget) it's just better for me I find.
  5. You have an Iridum with a "light tint" which you constantly use at night? How light is light?

I only use Iridiums when weatherman says it's going to be sunny the whole day, otherwise I stick to my Pinlock (1 light, 1 dark tints) visors.