Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Time to Upgrade - CBR1100XX or VFR800 - And More Questions!!

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Wanderer, Aug 26, 2006.

1. I've been riding for the last two years on a Honda VTR250 and while I love it, it is time to let it go and upgrade. Queston is - which bike??

I am pretty set on Honda's - I just like 'em - but the question I have is opinions on the CBR1100XX and the VFR800? I am also curious - it seems like they are advertising the 2006 models, but it seems like no-one has them in stock yet? Can anyone set me straight on this?
  2. I saw redwing honda sale for this weekend. too bad I'm not ready for an upgrade. looked like $3k off rrp. if you got nothing on tomorrow.
  3. cbr1000xx - very nice looking, lots and lots of punch - like a cbr1000rr but just a touch more modesty in appearance.
    vfr - dunno
  4. mmm...well apart from the huge step up in performance on the blackbird, there is also quite a large step up in weight...so bear that in mind - you will get used to it, but at first it will feel big and heavy. (compared to your vtr). :)
    The VFR is a nice bike to...heavy enough for it's size, and it won't go as hard as the Blackbird. :)
    To me, the VFR is a bit over-rated...if it had a 1000cc V4engine it would be MUCH more appealing IMHO.
  5. Re: Time to Upgrade - CBR1100XX or VFR800 - And More Questio

I guess sport tour is your category?, I myself am eyeing of the new clutchless Yamaha FJR ABS also check out how some of the foreign VFR models which have ABS