Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Time to service my zzr250

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by v-petn, Aug 28, 2008.

1. Hi all,

I'm planning on servicing my bike this weekend... I want to do this task my self... I'm a bit nervous as I've never worked on a bike before... I've serviced my car without any issues so I'm assuming this shouldn't be a big deal...

I've worked out how to change the oil and oil filter...

Step 1: Place bike on centre stand
    Step 2: Remove the drain plug from underneather the bike and allow oil to drain
    Step 3: Remove oil filter which should be located next to the drain plug
    Step 4: Reinsert the drain plug and place new oil filter and then put oil back in

While I'm doing this, I'm planning on changing the air filter as well... From what I read on the manual, it doesn't appear too difficult...

What else should I do? I want to change the spark plugs but I'm not sure on how to do this as taking the petrol tank off seems a little dauting...

Can some provide me with steps or even pics which would help a lot?
  2. spark plugs =
    seat off,
    bolts in side of tank out,
    fuel tap off,
    remove 2 x hoses to tap,
    remove breather hose at back of tank,
    two bolts at back of tank out,
    slide tank back and remove,
    pull out leads in a forward driection.

you will need the plug remover tool from the tool kit. use this with a spanner to get the plugs out. if you dont have the tool you will will have to find an alternative.

reverse this and its back together.
  3. When you change your oil, take it for a ride first and get it to operating temp. Then dump it.