Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'Cruisers' started by kingy, Feb 20, 2012.

1. Hey guys

Just wondering i have been ridding dirt bikes/motards for the past 4 yrs.. i have recently bought myself a Honda Shadow VT750 for a daily and a 06 harley fatboy... about a yr ago..

i keep forgetting sometimes i am on a cruiser and nearly end up hitting barriers on really tight bends...
    for example yesterday going down macquarie pass.. i was shitting bricks..

any tips/ ideas on how to get me to corner the big cruisers around corners ??
    yes i know to look through the corner etc etc etc.. i think its my nerves as the bikes are so much heavier then the old dirt bikes etc..
    also much lower... i sc****d out heaps yesterday causing the bike to stand upright...
    i hug the tank best i can anyway with my knees..
    some corners going down i had to put back into first gear and really slowly get around them.. maybe the 25k bends...

all help and advise would be great.
  2. The selection of a pair of tights to wear under your chaps is something of a personal decision.
    "Does it accentuate my package?", "Will it match my eyepatch?", and "Do any of the other pirates in my crew already wear this colour?", are just a few considerations to be made.
    Good luck Kingy, and "Aaaargh"...
    • Like Like x 7
  3. classic
  4. Right tool for the right job. The handy hint is usually in the name for the style of bike you're riding. Cruisers are excellent at cruising and as a result compromise on the other aspects of being a bike. Sports bikes excel at being sporty, but aren't always that comfortable for a long leisurely cruise.