Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Thinking about adding a bike to the stable

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Voz, Apr 29, 2012.

1. Hi, I have a Tmax 500 scooter which I absolutely love to bits and ride every day. I want to keep this scooter and maybe add a motorbike to my stable.

It seems that since I started riding in Feb 12 that I have ridden every day so am pretty enthusiastic about riding. I will take the scooter to do everything including commuting, shopping, just anything. I have 3 pretty decent cars to choose from and I just do not use them at all. I have put on about 2500 klm in my first 3 months and that is all mainly in Sydney.

I will be moving to my Provisional license in the next 2 weeks and then on that for 12 mths until I am allowed an unrestricted license. So my new bike will need to meet LAMS requirements.

I will most likely go for a used bike to save money and would like to limit the spend to about $8000.

The things I would like to improve with my current scoot are :

- increased acceleration (Tmax is about 0-100in 7.5 secs)
    - manual gears (Tmax is CVT)
    - maybe lower kerb weight for low speed parking etc
    - better handling of the bumps on Sydney streets (Tmax has 15" F & R)
    - I am majorly attracted to ABS brakes, I really want ABS
    - increased flexibility to go through narrower gaps in normal riding situation with confidence
    - Ability to go off road maybe, just in terms of unsealed roads not through the bush

The things I want to retain in my ride would be:

- some sort of storage, I guess I could fit a top box but the under seat storage on the Tmax is just awesome.
    - protection from the wind and rain
    - seat comfort, I can stay in the Tmax seat for hours