Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Think I've stuffed my ignition coils

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by klau, Oct 25, 2008.

1. Being a newb, I thought it was a good idea to adjust the air/mixture screws on my 2 cyclinder bike individually (after cleaning the carbs).

This was achieved by individually removing the plug cap from the spark plug, wrapping the cap in a towel, whilst I adjusted the other cyclinder (plug attached, bike running). All good until later when the bike wouldn't idle and sounded like crap. I had by then done the towel wrap multiple times per plug cap.

Come next morning the bike won't start. Google around and it seems my mistake was not earthing the plug. With a sinking feeling, I did a proper spark test and there is only a weak yellow spark when it should be blue and strong...

1st thought - stuffed the coils as stopped the coils from sparking and hence damaged them.
    2nd thought - what else might be damaged...

Advice? Help!

2. I assume you have taken the towel off?

In the good old days, what you did was not too bad a way to synchronise carby tuning of twin cylender bikes. However some bikes with modern electronic ignitions don't like it.

My bike comes with the specific warning that if you run the bike with an unearthed ignition lead (eg with a plug cap off) you are likely to stuff the diode board. I don't know what a diode board is as I don't surf or iron, but I know two things:
    1. My bike won't run without it; and
    2. They are f%@%king expense to replace.

No doubt all bikes are different and so this is probably no help to you but I guess comes as warning to others to read the instructions first.