Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Things I learnt on Sunday's learner ride ...

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Rybky, May 26, 2008.

1. So, the learner ride around the Southern Highlands on Sunday was my first long ride, the first time at freeway speed and the first time around twisties - a few things learnt as you can image!

1. My bike goes pretty well! (of course I kept to 80kph officer)

2. I am much more confident on my bike, very noticeable on my way to work this morning. The ride gave me a chance to take corners at a higher speed than my daily commute could ever allow and leaning more still feels safe.

3. My ears hurt - I have no other helmet experience to compare to but my Nolan seems to be VERY noisy at 80+. I can now see why people wear earplugs.

4. The seat is uncomfortable - after about an hour in the saddle I was getting very uncomfortable as some people following me may have noticed! A lot of fidgeting around trying to a get comfy position.

The final learning for me was the most disappointing. I started riding out of necessity rather than desire, where we live there is only 1 car space and having had a kid last year my wife was feeling a bit stranded when I took the car to work everyday. Ever since I can remember I was into cars, never had an interest in bikes at all, before moving to Aus I was starting to get into performance cars and had a Honda S2000 which I sadly had to sell to come here.