Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Thicker Handgrips - is it easy to replace the old ones?

Discussion in 'Cruisers' started by Tomo201070, Jan 23, 2009.

1. Hi,

I've been riding my Virago for the last 2 years, and I've found that my right hand sometimes seems to go numb. I bought myself some nice new gloves as a Christmas present and went out for a ride in some great weather. The new gloves are a lot thinner than the old ones and a lot more supple. Really pliable with roo leather etc.

Unfortunately the numbness seemed worse this time out. I've decided that due to having big hands, maybe it's because I have too small a grip on the bike.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I can do, or the best way forward?

2. grips

:wink: Hi just letting you know about grips. I have fitted oxford heated grips to my shadow cruiser I find these very comfy with the added bonus of having toasty mitts in winter time.

I dont think they are v hard to fit I have a mate who lives in Vermont (I notice u are in Berwick) not too far away and he would probably fit them for you for a six pack of beer (he's that kind of a guy!) and he does a fab job.

He has already adjusted my bikes suspension, and fixed the headlight angle etc etc
    so you supply whatever grips you want and a six pack of beer and I reckon he would do it for you.

PM me back if you are interested. Viragos are a good choice too!
    One last thing make sure you are not gripping the bars too tightly I did this as a newbie (due to nerves and the traffic) and it really does cause sore hands. try to loosen your grip just a little.
    cheers Sheri