Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Thermostat question

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by hornet, Sep 14, 2005.

1. In any car I've driven, the temp gauge usually quickly pops up to the middle, or thereabouts, and stays there pretty much irrespective of outside circumstances. I understand that the thermostat stays closed to heat up the engine quickly, then opens to allow hot water to circulate quickly and keep the engine at an optimum temperature.
    But I've got no experience with bike thermostats (Hornet is my first non-air-cooled bike)
    If the day is cold, the temp gauge barely moves above the bottom marker, and never gets anywhere near the middle except on the hottest of days.
    Do bike thermostats behave differently, is mine faulty, or (as I suspect) has some dimwit removed it, and if so, how do I tell???
    End of ignorance display........

2. Nah sounds the same as the VTR :)
  3. i've just been questioning the same thing with my bike too Paul. It never gets above the bottom marker. The only time it did was when it was a warm day and i was 'warming' the bike up. I started it and then went inside to get ready. I came back out maybe 5-10(at most) and it was near the middle. That's the closest it has ever come.

It just seems that bike thermostats are either:

A: much higher scale and therefore the bottom marker may be equivalent to the middle of a cars???

B: They are just more efficient with dealing with the heat due to their design allowing the engine much better heat dispersal due to being so open. It may also be the fact that they are a much smaller capacity engine as comapred with cars??