Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

The step up.

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Fixed, Jun 10, 2005.

1. Right. I want a new bike.

I've had enough of the babyblade; she's been good to me but I've been wringing her neck now for a couple of months and my restrictions are nearly up.

After flights of fancy drooling over European bikes worth roughly as much as a small flat in Richmond, I've narrowed my choices down to the following far more practical models.

2005 Honda CBR 600 RR
    2005 Yamaha YZFR6

The rationale is thus:

a) They both come in black.
    b) They will both make good commuters with enough left over to play with.
    c) They're both a bit sexy and I can mod them a little.
    d) They can tour with a Ventura rack on the back.

Now, what I really want is the Tuono, or RSVR, or MT01, or TNT, or ... Basically I want every god-damn bike in the whole f*cking world. I wanted a sexy nekked muscle bike, but considering I ride every day to the city and back it's just not practical. Plus I want to keep the costs to around $15k.

So, what I'm asking is does anyone know good dealers?

Can anyone give their opinion of the bikes?

2. No

They're alright.
  3. Tell a lie, Ringwood BMW are pretty good ...
  4. Split the difference I reckon... both about the same price, similar engines etc. The CBR is a bit smaller. I can tell you a bit about the R6, but reserve most of my comment about the CBR as I don't own one (but have test ridden one).

The R6 i think is better looking, with black frame and wheels and red trim etc. Here's a photo of mine: