Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

N/A | National The Speed Camera Swindle

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by Mouth, Jan 1, 2016.

1. We recently had a great opportunity with a former Class 1 Police Advanced Driver in the Metropolitan Police (London), asking questions related to the tactics and effectiveness of speed cameras in Western Australia, using international experience and current career as a reputable base line.

The following detailed response has been prepared about covert speed cameras, please take the time to read in full and further develop or reinforce your understanding of ‘speed’.

I have been driving cars and riding motorcycles for over 35 years. For 25 of those years I drove in England before immigrating to Western Australia (WA) just over ten years ago. Whilst in England I served for 20 years in the Metropolitan Police (London) during which I underwent a number driving courses, the last of which saw me qualify as a Class 1 Advanced (Police) Driver. This authorised me to operate high-powered pursuit vehicles, as well as vans, riot buses and of course general patrol vehicles. Shortly after arriving in WA, I became an investigator and for 10 years a significant part of my role has been the investigation of road traffic crashes.

When I left England, covert speed cameras were not used; in fact the speed cameras we did have were fixed, painted bright yellow and warning signs were placed for a mile in every direction around the camera. In high-risk areas (accident black spots) the authorities wanted people to be aware of the danger, to check their speed and to slow down. Fixed, overt speed cameras accomplished the desired effect.