Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

The Physics of Motorcycles (or why motorcycles do that!)

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by ginji, May 9, 2007.

1. As some of you would have realised by now (I hope anyway) I'm a uni student! and the worst kind too, the know it all* physics type :p

So I've decided to tell you all why your motorcycle behaves the way it does when you do certain things. If you don't understand what I've said, and want to, please tell me and I'll try and explain it again for you...

First off...

Why the hell does the bike lean to the left if I push on the left hand handlebar?

This is called countersteering. What happens is that you push on the handlebar, and turn the front wheel in the opposite direction you want to turn. This changes the pivot point (the wheel's contact point) out from under the bike's centre of mass and in turn generates the lean.

Next time, why your grip to the road really changes when you lean the bike over (hint, it has nothing to do with the contact area of the tyre ;))

(BTW, this is what happens when I get bored at uni... And my GF called me a geek for actually posting this, so you're allowed to call me that too :LOL: )

*Spelling and grammar excluded unconditionally.
  2. Yea, I know the diagrams are there, but I was going to make some more specific ones to motorcycle wheels ;)
  3. Geek ! :wink: :LOL:

Well you said I was allowed to call you that ....
  4. Shouldn't it be "Why does the bike lean to the left if I push on the lefthand handlebar?" Which is the practice of counter-steering.
  5. what did he say? :?
  6. yep, fixed now...
  7. hey fizzix know it all.... shouldn't it be precession, not precesion? :p