Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

The Limit

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by RussellDP, Apr 8, 2016.

1. Hiya all,

I have been riding for about 6 months now, and felt like I have been making good progress on the bike, braking better, riding smoother, taking smoother lines through corners, ridden in the wet, the rain and extreme heat, and now am riding 100% of the time as I had to loan my car to my son.

I feel like I am setting up generally well for corners, have learned how to adjust the line through the corners if needed and have a few favourite little bends near home that I use as a bit of a touch stone - in effect, seeing if I can get them better every time I go around them.

I would love to know how far over I am cranking the bike sometimes, but to this point I don't feel like I have ever gone too far, which begs the question.

How do you know when you are about to go too far?

In a car, you generally get a bit of a warning if the car is about to lose traction or slide, so I ask if the same thing happens on a bike? Is there a way when you can feel via the sensory inputs when you have reached a point that physics wont allow you to go beyond?

How do these things feel when they start to happen? Is it a wobble? How would you describe the sensation of being part way through a corner and realising "Oh F......"

I don't think I have gone close to this point yet, but I would be interested to know what warning signs I may get.