Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

The Heart Is Out Of The Beast - CB250

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by Ewan, Apr 21, 2009.

1. Hi everyone. I have jumped in and started working on the first stages of my bike rebuild. I am a complete bike newbie (L plater) and have just lowered out the engine. Now I am at the point where i need to start fixing sh!t and put it all back together and, to be honest, I am feeling a little apprehensive.

Because this is my first engine rebuild ever I will be learning alot as I go along, however, I am trying to get a bit of a shopping list together of what parts I might need for a CB250 motor rebuild. Could you all help me compile a short list of what I will need to rebuild the CB250 motor.

The spark plugs were all oily and the bike was hardly running so I am anticipated quite a worn engine. Could someone maybe give me a heads up of what I am install for or some things I can look out for?

The bike is 1979 CB250N Superdream done 86,000 kms.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

2. New piston rings (maybe pistons too), spark plugs and head gasket are my bet. You'd probably also want to get a new balancer chain and cam bearings at the milage its done, they're apparently a bit notorious for eating those.

While you're at it you may want to change the bottom and top end bearings, as this will smooth out the engine as well as increase reliability and expected running life.

You may need a rebore depending on the condition of them. Scratches equals bad.