Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

N/A | National The Financial costs of losing your licence.

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by deadman, May 7, 2011.

1. 12 points and about $1200 in fines, equals loss of licence,
    I know, Its self inflicted.
    Accumulated points,

The other side is.

Loss off income due to no transport, I live in the sticks and there is virtually no transport available,

I am a sub contractor, so I cant put a tonne of welding gear on a bus, even if there was one,

Loss of licence, 8 months,
    Loss of income, $60,000-00
    Loss of taxes to the Govt, $20,000-00

You cant get a hard ship Licence allowing you to travel to and from work,
    It Just doesnt exist,

How many other people are in this predicament,
    And how much does the Govt actually lose in Taxes when you add all the people together who have lost their licences and their jobs,

Does speed revenue cover the actual loss of income to the Govt in Taxes,

With out my Tenant living here, I would be forced to drive with no licence, just to get to the shops for food, Let alone any thing else.

Going any where, is just a no go, Unless my Tenant drives me, I dont go any where,

The stats show that there are a lot of people driving unlicenced,

The people with familys to support and mortgages to pay are the ones really feeling this when they lose their jobs,
  2. Yup, loss of licence is ludicrous for a lot of the cases. And the fines are ridiculous!
  3. a very enlightening perspective on the issue, mate, you don't tend to think of the OTHER costs until it happens....

The fines are supposed to be a deterrent; perhaps if the advertising ALSO included the stats that are quoted here, the campaign might be a lot more successful.