Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

The FEAR

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by dims, Sep 17, 2007.

1. Hey everyone. I think i have 'the fear'.

I've been riding a ZX2R and looking to upgrade very soon. When i first bought it i used to be scared and think to myself, how can anyone want anything bigger?
    Now i'm very comfortable with my 2R, i can fully open her up and feel like i can handle it well.

I've been riding for about (11 months).

Anyway, looking at getting a bigger bike as i feel like i want more power, but at the same time, i have this fear that i won't be able to handle the power. Any idea how to get over this?

I was thinking maybe getting on a thousand and do a track day or two to get used to it?

Any suggestions?

Thanks

2. Ok now you have riding in a straight line sorted out :LOL:
    Are you seriously saying you can outride your bike?
    Try a track day on yours first. Do some rider training then see if there is anything left.
    My 2c worth :wink:

3. This question is asked so many times.. Just go out and check em all out. Buy the one you like and ride it to what ever your abilities are. Remember once you go beyond your abilities, you will come unstuck.

Now as for the bikes abilities, i dont think there would honestly be too many people who could ride a bike to its limits..

4. Yeah I agree, you've got a pretty quick two-fiddy there. If you reckon you can max that out through twisties I dont think you'd have any quarms about getting on something bigger.

Anyway, this comes up time and time again. Take it slow and let yourself get used to a bigger bike and you'll be fine.

Nerves will keep you safe, too.