Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

The ever so frustrating this with certain road bikes!!!!

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' at netrider.net.au started by BrandisS, Mar 14, 2008.

1. I'm not a real mechanical minded person so I won't blabber on too much here but I own a 2008 Yamaha R6. Love the bike. Have owned a CBR1000 which I wrote off but the 600 has enough power for me and looks awesome....apart from the friggin headlights!!! The exact same thing as the CBR with the 1 low beam, 1 high beam set up. It looks stupid! Can anyone tell me if this is for a specific reason? The new R1 has a four light setup with 2 low beams and 2 high beams, why can't the R6??? Can anyone tell me how to modify this or where to find an aftermarket headlight so my otherwise perfect bike doesn't continued to be ruined because it has one light??!! It just looks wrong and I want it fixed but don't know how and have tried to find out how to. Help...PLEASE.

2. Hi, welcome to the forum. Why don't you pop over to the Welcome Lounge section and introduce yourself and your bike.

Don't despair, yes you can get dual-headlight setups for R6. I am
    sure you will find with a good bit of internet searching or maybe one
    of the other netriders can direct you.

A lot of companies do this so as to reduce the amount of electricity
    needed for the lights, this allows a smaller alternator and less weight
    and better engine performance. If you connect two lights to this
    permanently, you might get a flat battery more easily, especially if you do lots of short trips.

3. I dont see what your problem is, personally I love the single headlight on set up.