Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

The epic quest to build my dream bike

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by slygrog, Aug 9, 2012.

1. Before I say anything about the aforementioned quest, I must announce that I have no experience OR exposure to anything vaguely mechanical. I 'installed' a sidestand on my first bike last year and I am still resting - proudly - on that laurel. It took me like an hour to do it, and my bike inexplicably exploded a week later. That's what we're dealing with.

(Specific questions at the end of post, after self-indulgent ramble)

And I think it's total rubbish. For some reason, I feel it's irresponsible to have no understanding of how a motorbike works if you ride one. I don't know why I never felt this way about cars, but whatever.

Instead of giving in to my recent urges to trade in my Suzuki GS500F for a Honda GB500, or to buy some new and shiny things to put ON my GS, I am considering doing something more productive with my time and money. I am considering buying a POS motorbike and spending the next 12 months turning it into my dream ride, so that when my restrictions are up I can give myself a nice present.

I imagine that with enough time and reading, I could figure out how to do all of the things just fine, but I am also looking for some guidance from you guys.