Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

the best first bike to buy

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by szed, Sep 6, 2008.

1. hi everyone i am new to the motorcycle scene. i am looking at getting a bike to learn on as i am currently waiting to get my learners. so i have been looking on the net and mags to try and narrow the search down, but every day i find my self, going around in circles. the bikes i have been looking at are ; hyosung 250, gs500f, vtr250.
    i want a bike that will not be to small due to me being 6feet1 and 100kgs, so i want a bike that can get me out of sticky circumstances.i want a bit more power so that i can learn progressively and one day when im ready i can get my dreambike triumph daytona 675, i will not have to learn how to ride on it.

thanking you so much all suggestions welcome;

are the hyosungs so unreliable?? ialways here my friend of a firend but never the first person. i dont know just something i noticed.

2. Hyo's have a bad rep, but if a problem arises, most will be covered by warranty, right? Just throwing in my two cents :p
    As for the height thing, wish i could help but im vertically challenged at under 5ft so have only researched the opposite way, so I'll leave that one to the taller members of this fine forum!

3. yes hyo's do have a bad rep but i had my hyo 2007 250r for almost 2 years and it never gave me a single problem except for a broken clutch cable. it was my daily work horse too covering 12,000 kms. the hyos are improving. slowly but they are improving.