Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

The best city to own a motorcycle in is ..........

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by cheese, Sep 25, 2005.

1. Melbourne

2. Sydney

0 vote(s)
  3. Gold Coast/Brisbane

0 vote(s)
  4. Perth

0 vote(s)
  5. Adelaide

0 vote(s)
  6. Tassie

0 vote(s)
  7. Somewhere else

0 vote(s)
  1. Ok, I'm a newbie. Just found this forum a few days ago. I've spent two thirds of my life in Melbourne, but have been in Sydney the last few years and a stint up on the Gold Coast before that. Reading this forum makes me homesick for the city I consider home - Melbourne. Damn I love that city. And it seems to me that the motorbike scene is so much more alive in Melbourne than anywhere else I've been in Australia.

Anyway, I'm not trying to troll and start a flamewar, but it's quite apparent that there's a large Victorian contingent to this forum. Lets see if the poll confirms my observation.
  2. Best city is probably Melbourne due to the free tolls on city link, footpath parking, lane splitting being a grey enough area that its not really illegal (depending on which cop you talk to) and quite active motorbike clubs (but I guess the speeding crackdown might go against it).

Best State would be Tassie (Hobart is what you are trying to think of I would imagine.).
  3. Here's my thoughts on why Melbourne is a great city for Motorbikes and riders (matt232 beat me to a few of them):

* lane splitting - it's a natural thing to do in Melbourne. Anywhere else, I get abused badly by motorists that aren't used to it.

* footpath parking - I've been abused by pedestrians in Sydney for doing this