Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Test Riding

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by screwball, Mar 6, 2012.

1. Sup fellow bikers,

So anyway, I've been riding my 2008 Triumph Daytona 675 now for a couple of years. I've spent probably 80% of my time commuting on it, and 20% "fun" riding.

I'm starting to get "the itch" where I want to get out there and get me some strange. Don't get me wrong, the Trumpy is an absolute gun of a ride, but I just can't help but want to try out a few other bikes.

I am basically looking at getting a new bike at the start of the financial year.

I really want to get out and test ride everything.. When I say everything, I mean all of my Daytona's competitors and more.

So my question is this:

Has anyone done this before and how receptive are dealers to allowing back to back to back to back test rides?

When I bought the trumpet I went in and rode it. Then I went back and rode a Kawasaki ZX6, a Suzuki GSXR750 and another Daytona.

All of those bikes were ridden with very little experience so I really couldn't have appreciated the differences. Now that I've spent a bit of time on my bike, I feel that test riding some more bikes will be of significant benefit.

I don't want to piss a dealer off so bad they don't want to deal with me by riding every bike in their yard, and I don't want to have to travel 100km to visit different stealerships to ride different bikes purely to stop from rubbing some tool salesman up the wrong way.

Anyone done this before? Any tactics? Stories?

2. Just do it over a period of time. Plus tell them you are cashed up and not a tyre kicker.
    Prob better off shortening the list a bit though. You must have some idea of what you want?
    Naked, tourer, sport?
    • Like Like x 1