Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Test riding naked middleweights

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Dekker, Jul 1, 2008.

1. Well, I've got some time off work and I'm looking for a new bike, so I thought I'd use these forums as a place to collect my thoughts on the various bikes I've test ridden this week. Perhaps someone else will find it useful. :)

First off, some background.
    I've been riding the GS500 for a year and 10 months now, during which time I've clocked up around 25000km of mostly weekend riding. Once a week I commute to work on it, which is a 37km trip through Sydney's joyous peak hour sprawl. I love my bike but wouldn't mind something that is a little more high-tech and perhaps a bit more accomodating of my lanky 190cm / 78kg frame. Recently I have been venturing onto some unsealed roads, which is fun, but I don't think the gs appreciates it so I'll treat some dirt ability as a bonus in my quest to find a mainly street-orientated bike.

This morning I rode Honda's new 600 Hornet. My initial impression centred on the smoothness of the engine (this being the first inline 4 I've ridden). Coupled with the light clutch, the bike dispelled any concerns of stalling it while riding out of the dealership. It had an 'instantly familiar' feeling that bouyed my confidence.