Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Test riding a new bike

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Wanderer, Aug 29, 2006.

1. I am off to test ride some new bikes this afternoon - problem is I have been riding a VTR250 for the past 2 years and am nervous about riding a new bike from a power and weight perspective. I am testing the VFR and potentially the Blackbird, and just wanted some advice about what to watch out for in terms of the increased power and weight. Don't want to bend something.......

2. Hi Jason, just keep in mind the bike will only go as fast as you twist the wrist. Just take your time and relax. You will find if you havent ridden bigger bikes than the VTR that they will try to pull themselves out of your hands so make sure you hold on. The weight is also a factor but mainly when you stop, so make sure you are balanced when you stop.
    At the end of the day take it easy and enjoy your self.

Good Luck and let us know what you thought of the bikes you end up riding.

3. I did the same thing a few weeks ago when shopping for an upgrade. I was coming off a 2stroke RGV so that worried me even more. But as long as you take it easy with the right wrist you'll find that you shouldn't have much of a problem.

And I also agree with the breaking thing, holding up a blackbird coming to a stop will be a hell of a lot different to a VTR250. Balance and stable rear braking should help this out.

Have fun mate, as long as you keep calm you'll find you have the ability to ride most road bikes.
  4. Thanks for the replies. Well I went down to Red Wing at Heidelberg and rode both the Blackbird and the VFR800. I'll give you a bit of a rundown on them but before I do some advice for those in the same spot I was earlier today.