Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Terrifying SMIDSY + anger... what do?

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by buckett, Oct 4, 2012.

1. Howdy

I've been riding for a little over 6 months. This morning I had my closest call ever and after 2 hours can not calm down!
    I've had plenty of smidsy's but always been able to see them coming or get out of the way pretty comfortably. I was on a 3 lane rd (Anzac pde outbound just after Moore park) in the middle lane. The right lane was stopped and banked up from a right hand turn lane, bus in left lane. As I was coming up to the banked up cars on the right immediately slowed down a little and buffered to left cause I could see some people changing quickly to middle lane. Anyway I was 100% expecting people to do stupid shit and long story short a lexus pulled out as fast a possible and I had absolutely no chance to do any breaking and missed him but about 3 cm. He had no idea the entire time even when I shot past him at 50km. I guess I could have reduced speed even more but its a 70km rd and I was already below 60 with brakes at the ready!

Anyway what do you guys do afterwards in this situation... ? I caught up to him later and insisted that he roll his window down and gave him a huge serve with many Fs and Cs. Not usually my style and I can't see it encouraging him to look next time so I'm not that happy with myself.
  2. 1st thing... awesome work on not getting whacked!!!

2nd thing ... venting is always good!

3rd thing ... it'll happen again!

After awhile it'll become... meh... nother dumbf@ck!
    • Like Like x 3
  3. ^^Yep, suck it up, deal with it and move along.
  4. Zen my friend.