Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Tax claims for a motorcycle

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by MissionMan, Jul 16, 2008.

1. How do I claim for mileage done on a bike for business purposes? Does it work the same as a car but based on a lower engine size?

I regularly use my bike because its easier to get to customers than in a car.

2. You have it correct, milage is suitable for under 5000km at the small engine ratio.
  3. Thats actually interesting. My mum is an accountant, and im a soon to be accountant :LOL:
    Anyways, she bought a holden monaro CV8 cause she's a sick biatch and claims it as a business car (not classed as a luxury cause its under $57,000) and gets tax reductions every year, and now its paid off for free pretty much as she paid less tax each year. But she has her own business, if you work for someone i'd say you can claim the mileage as it should be the same, keep receipts, write down klm's.
    Even parking tickets are claimable.

With a bike im not sure ay, would be good as i would definitely be ordering a ducati 1098s for when i start practicising next year :grin:

Il ask my mum and let you know if she does.

4. You claim the bike at a different question on the tax return, under different rules.

I just did mine by E-Tax (download at www.ato.gov.au for free)
    and it asks:
    Vehicle Deductions 1:
    Did you have any work-related costs for running a car?
    ... (lots of details)

Vehicle Deductions 2:
    Did you have any work-related costs for running a vehicle other than a car (eg motorcycle...)?
    ... (lots of details)

Disclaimer: I am not a dude who knows anything about tax or the rules, I just am approximately repeating what the tax office says, check with them for confirmation