Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

tall new rider needs advice

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by matt_sa, Sep 11, 2010.

1. Hi guys and gals,

I have my learners lessons in a month and a bit. Ive gone looking for bikes and need a bit of advice.

Whilst chatting to various places i got the impression my high of 6ft 5 was a issue with what bike to get for my l's in SA.

i have never been on a mbike at all and its going to just be a bit of fun on the weekend to satisfy my curiosity. Ive been driving for 11 years and own a xr6 ute, so have no drama's being on the road in a car.

i originaly was keen on a sports bike but the advice was not having the majority of my weight on the front wheel and me looking ridiculous on a 250 may not be the best.

yamaha adviced getting a road trial bike xt250
    honda advised a cb400

sitting on the honda it felt very heavy, on the trail bike it felt very strange with the suspension (im sure both would feel fine after a while)

im in no rush and would just like a hand, i have read the forumns here people saying get a POS others dont.

I've got a feeling im going to want a sporty bike in the end (mainly cause they look awesome).

anyways tall buggers out there would love to hear opionion's.
    Thanks in advance
  2. The only advice is to go and sit on different bikes and try them out. You may need to have the position of the pegs and foot controls moved to get the best comfort for someone your height but that can be done by a competent machine shop.

HERE is the list of Learner Approved Motorcycles for South Australia,? I assume that's where you are???