Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Take care out there riders!!! some vital advice.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by ramjet, Feb 26, 2007.

1. Being new to riding (i've been riding for 2 years now) I'd like to share some vital advice for anyone riding a motorbike out there.

I'll admit it, I probably thought I was a safe rider and coming off my bike would never happen, and wearing shorts and t-shirt was okay in hot weather. Well that was until last weekend when I had my first spill.

DON'T TAKE RIDING A MOTORCYCLE FOR GRANTED - ITS DANGEROUS.
    DO NOT THINK YOU ARE INVINCIBLE.
    ALWAYS WEAR PROTECTIVE GEAR - EVEN ON A 5 MIN TRIP.
    BE AWARE OF RIDING CONDITIONS.

RIDING IN THE WET:

Never underestimate the dangers of riding in the rain!! Especially when it just starts to rain which is when the road is at its most slippery. I recently came off in a corner whilst having my first ride in the rain (unexpectingly) and it was not fun at all.

Make sure you slow down WELL BEFORE entering a corner in the wet. You cannot brake hard on a slippery surface, the bike will just slide on and on!

Best advice - try to avoid wet weather riding.

RIDING AT NIGHT:

Be aware of what's ahead at ALL TIMES. Night Riding is dangerous because your vision of your surroundings is poor. Don't treat riding at night like you do riding in daylight. ITS A WHOLE DIFFERENT WORLD. SLOW DOWN, SCAN THE ROAD & USE HIGH BEAM WHERE POSSIBLE!!!

Oh one more thing I want to mention again, don't take PROTECTIVE GEAR for granted, even if it does cost you a fortune! even if it's a 40 degree day wear something over your skin!