Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Tailgaiting epidemic

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by dan, May 16, 2005.

1. Ever since I started riding, I have noticed how bad the tailgating epidemic is on our roads.

1 kiliometer of straight road, 100pkh limit. 10 cars in the stretch. 1 car at the front, 100 metres from the car behind it, not a care in the world. Behind that, 9 cars, all bumper to bumper, brake lights on and off as they try to respond to the slight speeds fluctuatations. Before you know it, the last 5 cars are doing half the speed of the cars in front - snarl ensues.

We all know how it starts, but I have never understood why people insist on impersonating a rugby scrum in their vehicles.

My missus was driving yesterday, and I asked her why she had to drive so close to the car in front. She replied that if she didn't stay close, someone else would duck into the gap in front of her! Let's say I was dissappointed at her response, and somewhat queasy at the end of the trip with all the brake jerking.

Tailgating is illegal - 90% of drivers do it - cops rarely enforce it... go figure.

thats my whinge for the day.
  2. Because of this ZERO TOLERANCE crap with speeding. Everyone is trying to sit exactly on 101 or 102km/h. If you want to overtake you must to this at 103km/h or you will be punishied.

I agree that tailgating is wrong but so is this zero tolerance crap that says if you do 104km/h on a freeway you are endangering everyone's lives and will get a whopping fine and demerit points that will stay with you for 3 years. Oh, yes, 100km/h is sooo much safer.

Look at the westgate bridge. Now you have a situation where everone (including trucks :shock: ) are traveling at 79km/h 1 metre appart.