Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

SYDNEY Tolls? (Mod edit)

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by Tikyo, Jun 16, 2006.

1. Hey everyone,
    Im new to it all and this forum and this may sound stupid... but do you have to pay for tolls. Coz iv seen a few bikers pay tolls goin over the bridge (i live in Sydney btw) and others go round the side of the boom gate. Some people have told me it was optional~ can anyone help me out and clarify all this for me? and i know your allowed to go in the bus lane, can you go through their toll gate if you have a tag?

2. Leaglly, yes you have to pay tolls.

3. There are no tags that are designed for bikes, but I have a normal car tag in my pocket and it triggers the sensors perfectly well. I have the bikes plate on the list of vehicles that can use the tag, so its all legit.
  4. Those plasric things have made it that much harder to get around the gate though!
  5. How bout just tailing anotha car through~ Do those guys that live in the box care enough to do anything about it???
  6. Which toll roads are we talkng about here??

If you're keen on avoiding tolls, you can always just take the chance and go through the e-only lanes and hope that your bike doesn't trigger the sensors. If the booth is manned however, I doubt the guy in the box will do anything - apart from make sure the picture got taken of your plate.
  7. damn I need to get my eyes checked I thought this was a thread about "trolls" and how to avoid them...
  8. Had spoken to Citylink a couple of months back asking the same question .... they said Motorbikes are not required to pay due to the design of the e-tag reasons. So am making the most of it since then ....
  9. so is that in sydney aswell???