Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Sydney - Toll Roads - How does it work on a Bike?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Shoey, Apr 18, 2006.

1. Hi

I'm still very new to the world of bike riding and I'm just wondering how do tolls work on the bike. The M7 for example is a cashless toll road so how can I ride my bike on it? I assume that it would be too dangerous to ride under the sensors holding up an e-tag. I'm sure that this mustn't be too much of a problem. Any info would be great.

Thanks in advance. :grin: :grin:
  2. The official line by the RTA is that they don't do E-tags for bikes. (This might have changed lately, I'm not sure.)

As far as tolls that take cash go (like the bridge and M2) you should take as much time as you can removing gloves, fishing around for change etc etc just to make a point that bikes shouldn't be tolled.

As far as these new cashless toll roads are concerned, some riders just go through and hope they don't set off the sensor (which is fairly frequently from what I've heard), but if you do set off the sensor, be prepared for a letter from the man. Other people just take their cars E-tag and chuck it in their tankbag or strap it to their arm...

Don't do toll that much myself so can't help anymore than that...

3. I use the normal car toll beepy and keep it in my pocket. It works a treat! I also have an old mobile phone holder and slip the e-tag in that. It clips nicely to my belt. I stopped using the mobile phone holder when I realised that the beepy goes off when its just sat in my pocket, which means the rain can be kept off it.
  4. shoey, on your bike its pretty rough ask to place a tag on the bike itself. so you may need to get the tag in the luggage.