Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Sydney City Parking limits ?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by zukboy, Feb 15, 2012.

1. Hi everyone

new to riding and this forum but have to say am loving the convenience of two wheels.

i have a question aimed specifically at sydney riders who commute or ride around the CBD: has anyone been fined for parking longer than prescribed ?

i'm still new to the brethren and not really in the loop but am wondering whether parking inspectors monitor bikes as vigilantly as they do with cars. I park around haymarket and glebe. so far I've left the bike all day and no yellow envelope :D
    a little more hesitant to do that around haymarket or actual CBD, has anyone got stories
  2. was in Newtown the other day, mine and my mates bikes parked for 4 hours in a 1 hour spot. parking inspectors came past twice, didn't even look at the bikes. Wrote up tickets for the cages though, if that's any help to you.
  3. Depeneds on the mood of the inspector I guess.
    I haven't personally tried it yet and always try to stick to the times or find a bike space.
    Only last week I saw a GSR750 on Hunter St with the dreaded yellow envelope stuck between the seat and the tank (very easy to fly away btw) so your mileage may vary.
  4. Welcome mate, Yeah they will fine you, I've seen a few bikes with yellow envelopes stuffed into their seat straps, Castlereigh St CBD..
  5. Recently some bike parking was removed on Hay St, Haymarket (restored now) while they did some road works and I had to park on Castlereagh st all day and never got booked. Not sure if they were taking this into consideration but there were plenty inspectors around and I was pleased not to get a ticket.