Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

[Syd] New Rider

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Gustlik, Dec 4, 2007.

1. Hi Everyone,

Recently got my P’s, have a 2005 Hyosung 650 naked and live three suburbs from the Old road. I have been riding for about 6 months to and from work plus occasional joy ride. Well … there was a long break during that time when my bike was in for repairs. I’ll jolt it down so other can avoid it.

I took a trip down memory lane chasing a burger at Peats Ridge (north of Sydney), problem was it was the wrong lane. Took a wrong turn ended up on road that eventually turned to gravel. In retrospect (wonderful thing that) I should have stopped, before the gravel and done a u-turn but being a learner and not knowing any better I killed the speed to 10-15km/h and hoped for a turn off that never came.

I have not encountered a worse surface to ride on since. Needless to say one small bump quickly followed by another and my bike was on the ground. Being a Hyosung … a lot of things broke; handle bars got bent, mirror snapped, tank dinted, speedo/headlight shattered and all leavers/footpegs including the pillion one on one side of the bike snapped. If that was not enough, while picking it up, it all happened again … it fell over on its other side. Without break/gear leavers the bike wasn’t going anywhere, not that I would have trusted riding it back. Had to get it towed.