Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

[Syd] Bridge Toll

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by Levos, Apr 3, 2008.

1. Hey Guys!
    I am new to the biker world and am thinking about riding to work! But I have to cross the bridge...... so I was wondering....

Do bikes Pay Tolls???
    Does everyone do coins (which would seem to be really hard to me??)
    Or have eTags??
    Or Just drive straight through??

Cheers guys!
  2. You will need to pay cash or have a tag account, you don't have to carry the physical tag, the camera will take your photo (so don't forget to smile) and the system "should" match it to your etag account.

I have just added my bike to my existing tag for my car.

Also, you can use the bus lane over the bridge, I am pretty sure it is not Bus Only, others can confirm as I have not ridden it yet.

3. Keep your toll coins wedged next to your handgrip, or better yet trap the coin in the velcro flap on your glove cuff.
  4. I ride every day across the harbour bridge. Yes you can use the bus lane and it will save you a lot of time. As Rybky said you don't have to carry an etag so long as your bike is listed on your etag account. Just ring the rta up and they can sort it out for you.

5. Awesome info dudesss!!!
    Will sort it out with the RTA! hehe!
  6. I carry my e-toll (the RTA one) tag in my jacket pocket, i stop at the toll booths, and it normally detects it without me having to take it out. Sometimes i'll have to bring it out of my pocket though.
  7. wheelie through the toll booth mate
  8. Move to Melbourne, we dont pay tolls
  9. Hey.