Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Suzuki SV650s vs. SV650

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by OutCast, Feb 2, 2007.

1. I'm new to riding ... got my license last weekend - QRide.

Been shopping around a bit and am somewhat decided on one of these bikes. Just wondering if the more experienced people out there can give me some real world pros and cons of each.

2. Faired bikes: higher top speed, less wind in your face, better fuel economy on the freeway, keep you drier in the rain.

Naked bikes: cost less to crash, feel faster at lower speeds, lighter so better acceleration at legal speeds and easier to wheelie.

I think the riding position's the same between the two models of SV so I reckon that's about it.
  3. Actually, as I understand it the S has clipon bars and the naked one has 'normal' handlebars, so the S has a bit more agressive riding position. That might factor into your decision. I've looked at both, and while I think I probably would prefer the S just for its greater 'tourability', it will come down to which I can find a really nice example of when I have the money. (The naked is usually cheaper.)
  4. fairing 4kgs heavier sv650 165kgs sv650s 169kgs so weight isnt really a factor, but it comes down to what you can get for your dollar, only advantage in the sv650s you get abit off wind off you, you get a sportier feel with more responsive handling well that kinda would make my mind up right there
  5. yeah what those guys said.

The S has clipons, and the fairing

The N has the more upright position and no fairings.

I like the looks of the S personally, but if I had my time (and a lot of money) again I would go the N, drop a new front end on it with lower clip ons.